Menu
Log in
     
Log in

2024 WMCA Fall Education Days 

October 3 & 4, 2024

Hilton Garden Inn, Wenatchee, Washington

Athenian Dialogue:  Thursday, October 3, 2024 (9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. ) 

Academy Session:  Friday, October 4, 2024 (9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. )

REGISTRATION FOR FALL EDUCATION DAYS WILL CLOSE ON SEPTEMBER 12TH OR WHEN FULL.

Athenian Dialogue

Thursday, October 3, 2024

9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

(lunch is provided)

Facilitated By: Stephanie Smith

Attendees are required to purchase their own book

and read the book prior to the dialogue.



Creativity, Inc., the story of how Pixar came to be

By Ed Catmull

Creativity, Inc., the story of how Pixar came to be. From Ed Catmull, co-founder (with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter) of Pixar Animation Studios, comes an incisive book about creativity in business—sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath.

Creativity, Inc. is a book for managers who want to lead their employees to new heights, a manual for anyone who strives for originality, and the first-ever, all-access trip into the nerve center of Pixar Animation—into the meetings, postmortems, and “Braintrust” sessions where some of the most successful films in history are made. It is, at heart, a book about how to build a creative culture—but it is also, as Pixar co-founder and president Ed Catmull writes, “an expression of the ideas that I believe make the best in us possible.”

For nearly twenty years, Pixar has dominated the world of animation, producing such beloved films as the Toy Story trilogy, Monsters, Inc., Finding Nemo, The Incredibles, Up, and WALL-E, which have gone on to set box-office records and garner thirty Academy Awards. The joyousness of the storytelling, the inventive plots, the emotional authenticity: In some ways, Pixar movies are an object lesson in what creativity really is. Here, in this book, Catmull reveals the ideals and techniques that have made Pixar so widely admired—and so profitable.

As a young man, Ed Catmull had a dream: to make the first computer-animated movie. He nurtured that dream as a Ph.D. student at the University of Utah, where many computer science pioneers got their start, and then forged a partnership with George Lucas that led, indirectly, to his founding Pixar with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter in 1986. Nine years later, Toy Story was released, changing animation forever. The essential ingredient in that movie’s success—and in the thirteen movies that followed—was the unique environment that Catmull and his colleagues built at Pixar, based on philosophies that protect the creative process and defy convention, such as:

Give a good idea to a mediocre team, and they will screw it up. But give a mediocre idea to a great team, and they will either fix it or come up with something better.

If you don’t strive to uncover what is unseen and understand its nature, you will be ill prepared to lead.

It’s not the manager’s job to prevent risks. It’s the manager’s job to make it safe for others to take them.

The cost of preventing errors is often far greater than the cost of fixing them.

A company’s communication structure should not mirror its organizational structure. Everybody should be able to talk to anybody. 

Do not assume that general agreement will lead to change—it takes substantial energy to move a group, even when all are on board.

Attendees are required to purchase their own book and read the book prior to the dialogue. The dialogue will earn you 3 CMC or 3 MMC education points for 6 hours with the satisfactory and timely completion of a learning assessment.

There are only 35 spots available on a first come-first served basis.

Academy Session

Friday, October 4, 2024

9:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.

(lunch is provided)

Presented by Brenda Viola


--------------------------------------


On Friday, October 4, 2024, Brenda Viola will be facilitating a six hour session.

Theme: Reignite Joy in Work and Life

Public Servants Survival Guide: Work is often stressful, but recent years have written entirely new chapters in all of our lives. It can be overwhelming and challenging to remain energized about your difficult (but so important) work,

I Love My Job: How to Create an inspiring workplace. In challenging times it is more important than ever to go all in on taking care of your most valuable assets – the people that work for you.

The Fear Factor: Face the bully and conquer life’s challenges.

The Three Pillars of Resilience: The capacity to withstand or recover quickly from difficulties is needed to face both personal and professional challenges. What do resilient people have in common and where do they find the strength to do hard things?

    This academy class will earn you 3 CMC or 3 MMC education points for a 6 hour class and upon the timely completion of a learning assessment.

    There are only 60 spots available on a first come-first served basis.




    Registration Fees


     

    Athenian Dialogue: $175.00

    Academy Session: $175.00

    Athenian Dialogue AND Academy Session: $350.00

    *Registration fees are due at the time of registration. Unpaid registrations will be assessed a $25 late charge.

    PLEASE NOTE:

    There are NO refunds after September 12, 2024

       

    Scholarships

    Scholarships for both the Academy and Athenian Dialogue are available!  A maximum of 10 scholarships will be offered to members in good standing, on a first-come, first serve basis. Interested members must submit a request for reimbursement form following full attendance.   The registration reimbursement form is available at the following link:  

    Don’t forget!  WCIA, CIAW, and AWC RMSA also offer scholarships.

    WA Cities Insurance Authority (WCIA) Members: Registration to this program qualifies for reimbursement via your entity’s 1 percent training reimbursement allotment. Confer with your entity’s WCIA delegate or alternate for approval. Your entity’s assigned Origami user must submit the reimbursement request in Origami before the annual reimbursement submission deadline of November 1, 2024.

     


    Attendance

    Attendance at the Academy and/or Athenian Dialogue is open to all WMCA members. You do not need to have your CMC or MMC to attend!


     Hotel Reservations

    Rooms are $107.00 plus tax per night.

    Call to make your reservation at Hilton Garden Inn 509-662-0600 and say it is for the WA Municipal Clerks Association October 3 and 4, 2024 or the link to register at the hotel: https://www.hilton.com/en/book/reservation/deeplink/?ctyhocn=EATYOGI&groupCode=91D&arrivaldate=2024-10-02&departuredate=2024-10-04&cid=OM,WW,HILTONLINK,EN,DirectLink&fromId=HILTONLINKDIRECT

       

    Questions?

    Contact Alice Attwood, Education Coordinator at tonasket@nvinet.com.


    WMCA Clerks Gathering/Reception

    Thursday, October 3, 2024

    More information coming soon!


    © Washington Municipal Clerks Association


    Log in


    Log in to enjoy all WMCA member benefits.  

    Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software